Laura has a 'sweet' spot for property 

Laura has a 'sweet' spot for property 

Laura has a 'sweet' spot for property 

As part of our ongoing staff-profile series, this week we shine the spotlight on leasing expert, Laura Baker.  Here’s what she had to say about property, pastries and planning for her next holiday.

Tell us about your background.

I was born in Essex in England and moved to Australia in 2006 with my family. I finished my secondary education at Chancellor State College before going on to study to become a pastry chef at Southbank Institute of Technology in Brisbane. This was a great experience. I got to learn to make sculptures solely out of chocolate and many different cakes and pastries.

I followed my passion for baking into a career in hospitality. I worked in a number of venues as a barista and café manager and supplied my own baked goods to cafes and novelty cakes for birthdays and other special occasions. I always had visions of opening my own cake store or patisserie but the market is so tight here on the Coast compared to places like Melbourne. I decided to take the leap and change career path in 2018, joining another real estate company as a receptionist where I worked my way up and became an assistant property manager within around six months. I arrived at my current position with Henzells as a leasing consultant in November 2020. 
What sparked your interest in the property industry?
I had always had an interest in real estate from a young age. My parents have built and owned several houses in the UK, USA and here in Australia so I was exposed to this from a very young age. I have always loved house designs and walking around show homes. I built my first home at 23 with my partner and loved the entire process. I was fortunate to be able to completely customise our floor plan myself to something that suited us. This love for property ultimately led me to change career paths and follow a career in real estate. I haven’t looked back since.

What is the most rewarding part of your job?
I love my job and the fact that no days are the same. I am always out and about at different open homes. The most rewarding part of my job would be making the phone call to tenants to give them the news that the owners have approved their application. During COVID, these calls were even more rewarding due to the hardship that a lot of people on the Coast faced. It’s always great to know that I helped someone secure a home for themselves or their family.

What are the most important things you have learned at Henzells?
I have learned that working in a team environment can be rewarding despite past experiences with my previous workplace. The office is a great place to be and everyone has a laugh and supports each other! It’s so refreshing to work with people who enjoy coming to work. We’re always celebrating someone, whether it be a wedding, birthday or work anniversary.

What makes you happy?
Apart from spending time with my family and partner. I am most happy when in the kitchen baking cakes and other sweet treats for family and friends. I also love to cook. Travelling is also a huge motivator for me. I love to see the world and explore new places. I hate to stay in one place and I am always planning my next trip. I just booked a Disney cruise and am really hoping to be able to attend my best friend’s wedding in Greece in a few years.

Best thing about living on the Sunshine Coast
The Sunshine Coast is my happy place, spending time at the beach and watching the sunset at Mooloolaba never gets tiring. We are surrounded by such beautiful scenery.
The sunshine here is definitely much better than the gloomy days we used to have in England. Though I do miss the cold, snowy Christmases

Who do you most admire?
I would say my mum. She is a pretty incredible person. She is one of the strongest people I know and there is never a problem that she can’t solve.

Best way to spend a weekend? 
I love to catch up with friends, whether it be for breakfast or a pastry at a local patisserie. I also love exploring new places on the Coast with my partner and planning our next getaway.

I am currently in the process of building my second home with my partner in Beerwah which has been a big focus for us both recently.

Anything else you’d like to share?
I have a beautiful niece and nephew who I am absolutely obsessed with and love spending time with them and watching them grow. I also have a 13-year-old dog called Ellie, she’s a bit of a strange breed - a Maltese shitzu x staffy. 

Henzells Agency
Accom Caloundra
Pelcan Waters Foundation
Pelican Waters Caloundra